HELLO O C T O B E R,

I woke up the dawn of 23rd September with some unexplained excitement in my heart to see October. I wondered what special thing awaited me. It was quite awkward, sincerely, because of the weird experiences I have had in the past.

I will not tell, but

Truth be told, October has never been the month I enjoy so much, although it is my dearest birth month. I have cried a lot more times when I was a child anytime it was getting closer. I have wished it was taken out of the 12 before, and I have also prayed it was just a day lived because of how “dead” the day was to me.

But then here I was, sitting on my bed, alone, my body draped with a duvet, enjoying the beautiful 23rd dawn through my window as I inhaled the freshness, more excited to see October as if it was just a day away.

My hands were itchy to write something, yet the things I wanted to write about were many, and disorganized – as always. I felt I needed time to really organize my thoughts to send an emotional yet rational message across, but time was not on my side for the organization, although I had the words flowing on impulse. I got overwhelmed and slept, waiting for O C T O B E R, and that good thing!

But guess what?…….

An unfortunate happenstance tried occurring, on the day of my carefully planned (for once) photoshoot.

Out of the good feeling I had towards October, for once, I decided to go with an idea my sister brought up ; to do a photoshoot THIS birthday (emphasis on THIS because it’s been life and death due to an ailment). It made sense to me. My husband asked me what was the essence because he felt it was not necessary when I told him, but I had to let him understand (even though he still did not understand) I wanted to have a memory of this beautiful year captured as me in a frame, and pasted everywhere I would be, because life is short!

The day came for the photoshoot and Sandra, my sister, a hair stylist, had not fixed my hair, and had decided not to give me a particular dress for the shoot (“La borrow”, yes I know). I had to quickly buy one online which I had to travel miles for in a heavy traffic on the Amasaman road. The make-up artist was tired of waiting and had to leave for another “gig” not knowing the time of return. The bored photographer also had to attend to an equally important matter. All happening within a space of 10 minutes on a phone call. Gosh! Is this worth at all? I asked myself, as tears began to run down my eyes.

Why? Because this meant so much to me and not even my sister could see it to help me through it. I cried as I drove down the road, calling the photographer and Make-up artist to cancel the plan.

No other day?

No. Various dates suggested to them were all declined due to equal engagements, and it could not be later than 4th October. But thanks to my wonderful make-up artist @millysbridal, who felt my pain and situation and came with speed. She made it possible, and comforting; she fixed the hair and “fixed” my face, and Tadaaaaa I was looking all glamorous and queenly! I really felt indebted.

Today as I tried ending this write up, it occurred to me that the expectations of the righteous shall indeed never be cut off. No matter how bad things tries to turn out, God will send people who will set them to be on course again, just like what happened to me on the 25th September.

So this year, my dearest O C T O B E R, I am expectant, optimistic and highly sensitive to receiving that good turn around. Bring that good news from a far country, bring those good people from a far land, and ride me on prosperously!

But above all, be the month of His immense Presence.

Cheers to a new chapter!

Yours,

eunice Godbless

4 thoughts on “HELLO O C T O B E R,

Leave a comment