WHAT BROUGHT YOU HERE?

#1: BETRAYAL

Before I could take out my phone to see clearly, my head was hit with something from behind. I fell helplessly.

It felt very strange after I hanged up Thelma’s call. The sort of happiness she expressed upon hearing my pregnancy looks pretty strange to me. Come on! We have not been this way for four years, Adrian. You know this.

 ‘’Don’t look at me like that! I bursted out. You know what I am talking about. After she fought me so hard for taking you, her cousin away from her. What was I supposed to do as your girlfriend? Should I have sat down and watched you guys go on frequent dates and leave me all by myself? Then out of the blue she wants to have a night out with me just because I am pregnant for you? Does it make any sense?’’

 Adrian could read the anger and surprise on my face. He was quiet for a moment, careful on what to say next not to get me melancholic.

‘‘Who knows it could be a closure night. You have always longed for it, haven’t you?’’ He said, as he lifted my head by the chin with a finger, with some sternness in his look. It felt strange yet I could not take my eyes off. Our heads were slowly moving towards each other and my eyes closed at a point when I felt his hand moving behind my neck, then beneath my hair. Before we could submerge our lips, what’s app beeped with a message from Thelma; Live Location. Gosh! Obviously we had to pause. Adrian stopped a taxi.

‘It is a closure night but I still need you around. It is not safe alone out there. Please….’’ I turned and said as I entered the taxi. He just blew me a kiss in the air. The car moved.

The destination was an old isolated house in East Legon. I wondered who lived there. The family I know my Adrian to come from live in mansions, like the one I saw across the street with the brown gate and shimmering lights. Not this. It was so dark I pleaded with the driver to wait till Thelma arrives but he had already accepted a request and had to rush down the street. Damn! And Thelma was not picking her calls! What was she up to?

My hands were just moving in every direction to get something to hold on to. My pupils were widely dilated although I still could not see. Suddenly, something fell ahead of me and I could feel a presence around. Whatever or whoever it was made a fast move from the right to the left. Then I heard a heel take a step, following whatever or whoever moved. I held my chest tight as i panted for dear air because the anxiety and the palpitations nearly choked me to death.

‘Who’s there??’ I shouted, trying to take a step back and flee.

There was no responds. Before I could take the second step, my phone beeped another what’s app message. My iPhone was in my front jean pocket, turned upside down with the back facing out. The notification light was extremely bright so I could see a flash of a man in a black shirt and a lady in black. Before I could take out my phone to see clearly, my head was hit with something from behind. I fell helplessly.

Within seconds, my spirit left my body. Now I saw the two who could not see me; Adrian and her supposed cousin, Thelma, holding a blood-stained wooden club, looking down on me. Thelma laughed out loud, spat on my face, and stepped on my little baby bump. I saw blood flowing down from where I laid. Adrian held her hand and drew her into those arms, kissed her deeply and knelt down kissing what looked like a baby bump.

‘’Now we can have our lives back once again, as good lovers after losing you for her money in this past 4 years’’ Thelma said as she planted a kiss on his lips

I could only weep. Weeep. Weeeeeep. Weeeeep. Weeeeeep. Weeeeeeep. Weeeeeeeep!! Before I could curse, three demons forcefully led me here.

Adrian was the boy I loved so dear. He was the only boy, amongst many others, who could tame my heart, and sing its beautiful tune. He knew how to make my cry, and laugh to the extremes. He knew how to treat me like a woman, and he knew how to treat me as a little princess, too. This tenderness I never received from my parents, set me on the quest to finding it among strange men, and led myself to my untimely death at 20.

What brought me here? Not BETRAYAL? then my own stupidity!

(c) 2021 eunice Godbless

Leave a comment